Smoothie Foods

Last week, I was wandering around my local grocer, where I get most of my fruits and vegetables. I usually make a few rounds as there’s a lot of different foods to admire (most of which I have no idea how to prepare). I noticed they had cantaloupes for $1 each. While I enjoy the flavor of cantaloupe, I’ve always found it so difficult to select that I basically ignore it. After dicing, many cantaloupes are too soft — plus the center, with the seeds, is slimy, and it’s not always fully removed. Needless to say, I don’t eat much cantaloupe. But for $1 each? They’re healthy, and one melon can lighten and sweeten 4 smoothies. I’m not about to turn down that deal. Furthermore, after dicing it’s easy to freeze a large batch for use whenever you want.

Generally speaking, I don’t enjoy eating  fruits with mushy or pulpy textures. However, those textures disappear in the blender, so it’s possible to eat a more diverse group of foods than you otherwise would. There are other foods besides melons that fall into this category. Old bananas, blueberries and other fruits can be finicky to get right, but in a blender, their worst properties are neutralized.

Blending foods that are physically tiring to eat is another option. It’s difficult to consume leafy greens, carrots, and cucumbers in volume, but these, too, benefit from blending. The texture isn’t fully eliminated, but it’s easy to eat a lot of carrots if you don’t have to chew.

The moral? Think about ways to eat cheap and healthy foods that put them in a more favorable context than usual.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

